SoundCast Interview: The Flight (Joe Henson, Alexis Smith) - Alien Isolation

Interview:  The Flight (Joe Henson, Alexis Smith)

Marius Masalar talks to Joe Henson and Alexis Smith of ‘The Flight’ about their work on the multiplayer segment of Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, as well as the full score to Alien: Isolation.

From performing things live on esoteric instruments to the challenges of building on Jerry Goldsmith’s work, the duo discusses their process and offers a glimpse into their workflow and how their extensive experience producing for pop artists has informed their approach to media scoring.

Episode Highlights

00:00 — Intro
00:45 — Getting the opportunity to score the multiplayer for Assassin’s Creed IV
02:20 — Working in parallel
03:38 — How pop producing experience influences game scoring
07:50 — How multiplayer scoring differs from campaign/singleplayer work
11:25 — Live performances, and creative instrumentation
14:35 — A team of three for Alien: Isolation
17:55 — Building on the franchise’s musical history
23:05 — Scoring the alien
25:40 — Implementation and interactive music challenges for horror
30:08 — Diversity of mediums and the growth of game audio
34:28 — Advice for aspiring media composers
38:31 — Conclusion

Music Selections

00:00 - Saba Island (ACIV: Black Flag) by Joe Henson, Alexis Smith
08:14 - La Havana (ACIV: Black Flag) by Joe Henson, Alexis Smith
12:45 - Prison (ACIV: Black Flag) by Joe Henson, Alexis Smith
18:38 - Promo Cue 1 (Alien Isolation) by Joe Henson, Alexis Smith
20:54 - Promo Cue 2 (Alien Isolation) by Joe Henson, Alexis Smith
23:12 - Promo Cue 3 (Alien Isolation) by Joe Henson, Alexis Smith
26:56 - Promo Cue 4 (Alien Isolation) by Joe Henson, Alexis Smith
39:18 — 03 Tampa Bay (ACIV: Black Flag) by Joe Henson, Alexis Smith
58:27 - "Humans Are Predators" (Twilight) by Carter Burwell
61:25 - "Monkey See, Monkey Coup" (Dawn of the Planet of the Apes) by Michael Giacchino
62:40 - "Main Titles" (Pillars of the Earth) by Trevor Jones
65:00 - "Hercules and Hebe" (The Legend of Hercules) by Tuomas Kantelinen
69:04 - "April 1945" (Fury) by Steven Price
72:05 - "I Am Iron Man" (Iron Man 2) by John Debney
73:35 - "Battle of Vanaheim" (Thor: The Dark World) by Brian Tyler

Follow The Flight on Twitter (@theflightmusic)
Follow Marius Masalor on Twitter (@mostlymarius)

Support Tracksounds:
Most of the  soundtracks mentioned in this episode can be found at Amazon.  Your purchases through these links help us to keep on keepin' on!  Thank You!

Buy Soundtracks at Amazon.com

Download the Episode

Subscribe and More Info