The Soundcast Awards - Nominations and Winners

Our first Soundcast Awards show is in the books.  If you haven't listened to this unique episode yet, you can do so right here:

Below you'll find every nomination and winner, if you want to follow along with the show, but first his are the composers and titles that factored "bigly" in the inaugural award show.

Composer Ludwig Goransson grabbed 14 nominations and 4 wins!  James Newton Howard, Nicholas Britell garnered 9 nominations each, while Daniel Pemberton, 8.  The most nominated original score was "Black Panther" with 9 and John Powell's "Solo: A Star Wars Story" following closely with 8 noms..  Three female composers were nominated in the BREAKOUT COMPOSER category, with Amelia Warner (Mary Shelley) getting the win.  Surprising wins came for Marc Shaiman's "Mary Poppins Returns" and Rob Simonson's "Love, Simon" in the COMEDY and DRAMA categories respectively.

Composers and titles receiving unanimous nominations (from all 3 hosts) were:
  • Amelia Warner for Breakout Composer of the Year *
  • Ludwig Goransson for Breakout Composer of the Year 
  • Ludwig Goransson for Composer of the Year *
  • "Vice" by Nicholas Britell for Best Score (Drama)
  • "Spider-man: Into the Spiderverse" by Daniel Pemberton for Best Score (Animated) *
  • "Watership Down" by Frederic Jusid for Best Score (Animated)
  • "Lost in Space" by Christopher Lennertz for Best Score (Television) *
  • "Yellowstone" by Brian Tyler for Best Score (Television)
  • "Cobra Kai" by Zach Robinson and Leo Birenburg for Best Score (Television)
  • "Black Panther" by Ludwig Goransson for Film Score of the Year *
* = category winner

The Soundcast Awards were nominated and then selected through a round-robin process of elimination, until a single title is left in each category. This year  hosts Christopher Coleman, Kristen Romanelli, and Dane Walker nominated and determined each winner.

Below are the unique nominations and winners for each award category:

Breakout Composer - 9

Amelia Warner
Anna Merideth
Anne Chmelewsky
David Majzlin
Felix Raffel
Hildur Gudnadottir
Ludwig Goransson
Thomas Ades
Waveshaper & Robert Parker

Comedy - 11

Blindspotting - Michael Yezerski
Christopher Robin - Geoff Zanelli / Jon Brion
Crazy Rich Asians - Brian Tyler
De Super Hjemp Retorns - Felix Raffel
Eighth Grade - Anna Merideth
Game Night - Cliff Martinez
Holmes & Watson - Mark Mothersbaugh
Mary Poppins Returns - Marc Shaiman
Peter Rabbit - Dominik Lewis
Stan & Ollie - Rolfe Kent
Videoman - Waveshaper & Robert Parker

Action Adventure - 10

Bad Times At The El Royale - Michael Giacchino
Gemini - Keegan DeWitt
King Of Thieves - Benjamin Wallfisch
Maze Runner - John Paesano
Mission Impossible Fallout - Lorne Balfe
Oceans 8 - Daniel Pemberton
Red Sparrow - James Newton Howard
Sicario - Hildur Gudnadottir
The Commuter - Roque Banos
The Sister's Brothers - Desplat

Drama - 8

Ballad of Buster Scruggs - Carter Burwell
Blackkklansman - Terence Blanchard
First Man - Justin Hurwitz
Green Book - Kris Bowers
If Beale Street Could Talk - Nicholas Britell
Love Simon - Rob Simonson
Mary Queen Of Scots - Max Richter
Vice - Nicholas Britell

Animated - 8

Asterix - Phillipe Rombi
Cro-Blanc/White Fang - Bruno Coulais
Early Man - Harry Gregson-Williams
Incredibles 2 - Michael Giacchino
Isle Of Dogs - Alexander Desplat
Spider-man: Into the Spiderverse - Daniel Pemberton
Teen Titans GO - Jared Faber
Watership Down - Frederico Jusid

Fantasy/SciFi/Horror - 9

A Wrinkle In Time - Ramin Djawadi
Ant-Man And The Wasp - Christophe Beck
Avengers: Infiinity War - Alan Silvestri
Black Panther - Ludwig Goransson
Fantastic Beasts/Grindelwald - James Newton Howard
Mandy - Johan Johanson
Predator - Henry Jackman
Ready Player One - Alan Silvestri
Solo: A Star Wars Story - John Powell

Television - 8

Cobra Kai - Leo Birenburg &
Genius Picasso - Lorne And Hans
Legion - Jeff Russo
Lost In Space - Christopher Lennertz
Maniac - Dan Romer
The Good Fight - David Buckley
Westworld S2 - Ramin Djawadi
Yellowstone - Brian Tyler

Video Game - 8

11:11 Olivier Deriverie
Astro Bot Rescue Mission - Ken Young and Talahido Sasamura
Battle Tech - Jon Everist
Longshot:Homecoming - John Debney
Moss - Jason Graves
Ni No Kuni II - Revenant Kingdom - Joe Hisaishi
Spiderman - John Paesano
Yoku's Island Express - Jesse Harlin

Composition Of The Year - 12  

“A Big Strong Man In Need Of Rescuing” - Ralph Breaks The Internet - Henry Jackman “A King’s Sunset” from Black Panther “Apollo 11 Launch” - First Man - Justin Hurwitz “Canyon Awake” from The Ballad of Buster Scruggs “Dumbledore’s Theme” - Fantastic Beasts/ Crimes of Grindelwald - James Newton Howard “Finale” - Mary Queen of Scots by Max Richter “Killmonger” - Black Panther - Ludwig Goransson “Overture” - Red Sparrow  - James Newton Howard “Reminiscence Therapy” from Solo: A Star Wars Story by John Powell “The Landing” from First Man - Justin Hurwitz “United Nations/ End Titles” Black Panther by Ludwig Goransson “Wands into Earth” Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald by James Newton Howard

Film Score Of The Year - 9

Black Panther - Ludwig Goransson
Blackkklansman - Terence Blanchard
Fantastic Beasts/ Crimes of Grindelwald - James Newton Howard
First Man - Justin Hurwitz
If Beale Street Could Talk - Nicholas Britell
Love Simon - Rob Simonsen
Mary Queen Of Scots - Max Richter
Solo - John Powell
Spider Man - Daniel Pemberton

Composer of The Year - 9

Alan Silvestri
Daniel Pemberton
James Newton Howard
Johan Johannson
Lorne Balfe
Ludwig Goransson
Michael Giacchino
Nicholas Britell
Roque Banos

Please share your thoughts about The Soundcast Awards with a comment here or let us know on twitter @AUDIOSOUNDCAST.